The Gas and Energy Transition Research Centre has built a reputation for innovation, excellence, integrity and independence in all aspects of research. All research undertaken at The University of Queensland is subject to the University's policies and procedures, including the Researcher Conduct Policy. The Centre ultimately reports to the Vice-Chancellor.

Activities at the Centre are guided by two advisory bodies and working groups:

  • Strategic Advisory Board (SAB) guides the strategic direction of the centre and maintains an overview of the centre's performance. The SAB is chaired by a nominee of the UQ Vice-Chancellor, the Executive Dean of the UQ Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology (EAIT), and includes senior representatives from the Gas and Energy Transition Research Centre Members, UQ and the Queensland Government (the GasFields Commission Queensland and Office of Groundwater Impact Assessment). Projects are endorsed by the SAB, which also provides advice and guidance to the Centre Director on the strategic direction of the Centre as well as maintaining an overview of the Centre’s performance. The SAB does not have an operational focus and is not involved in the day-to-day management of the Centre.
  • Technical Advisory Board (TAG) reviews Centre research proposals and monitors the progress of ongoing projects to ensure they satisfy the Centre's research priorities. The TAG is chaired by the Centre Director, and its members include the Gas and Energy Transition Research Centre' Professorial Chairs and representatives from the centre's members and collaborating organisations, including the Queensland Government.
  • The TAG also takes advice on potential research ideas and technical issues from the Technical Working Groups (TWGs) that are coordinated by the Centre's Professorial Chairs and Chief Investigators. These groups provide technical advice and assistance for specific projects and more broadly about the overarching research themes The TWGs include representatives from the centre's members and collaborating organisations who have relevant expertise.